Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture Hyderabad

Reply to the admitted question for the LokSabha - Q.No. 1390 due for reply on 11.02.2020 regarding " Classification of Agroclimatic Zones "

a) Whether the government is reconsidering the classification of the country's Agroclimatic zones;

Ans. No information is available on this.

(The Planning Commission broadly divided into fifteen agricultural regions based on agroclimatic features, particularly soil type, climate including temperature and rainfall and its variation and water resources availability for regionalisation of the agricultural economy and planning. Now Planning Commission has been replaced by new institution NITI Aayog)

b) If so, the details thereof, and;

Ans. However, Under Indian Council of Agricultural Research, the National Bureau of Soil Survey & Land Use Planning (NBSS&LUP) came up with twenty agroecological zones based on the growing period as an integrated criteria of effective rainfall, soil groups, delineated boundaries adjusted to district boundaries with a minimal number of regions. DG ICAR and Research Advisory Committee (RAC) of CRIDA suggested that there is a need to revisit Agro-climatic zones of the country in view of the changing trends in climate, cropping pattern etc.

c) The remedial steps taken by the government in this regard keeping in view significant changes and a definite shift in temperatures and rainfall pattern across the country

Ans. No proposal / information in this regard is available on this from erstwhile Planning Commission or from NITI Aayog.

However, under the directions of DG, ICAR, ICAR-NBSS&LUP and ICAR-CRIDA planned to frame the modalities of methodology and data requirement for developing/ updating the existing Agro-climatic zones of India. To revisit the Agro-climatic zones it requires data on finer resolution soil, climate, physiography and cropping pattern etc.

Annexure-1

METEOROLOGICAL SUB-DIVISION WISE STATUS OF SOUTHWEST MONSOON AS ON 27-JUNE-2019

SI No	Sub Division	Cumulative Rainfall deviation (%) since 01- June-2019	Normal Onset	Onset 2019	Delay (days)
1	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	-36	3-Jun	15-Jun	12
2	ASSAM & MEGHALAYA	-29	2-Jun	15-Jun	13
3	NAGALAND-MANIPUR-MIZORAM- TRIPURA	-43	1-Jun	14-Jun	13
4	SUBHIMALAYAN WEST BENGAL & SIKKIM	-19	7-Jun	21-Jun	14
5	GANGETIC WEST BENGAL	-56	12-Jun	21-Jun	9
6	JHARKHAND	-57	13-Jun	22-Jun	9
7	BIHAR	-38	13-Jun	22-Jun	9
8	EAST UTTAR PRADESH	-46	20-Jun	27-Jun	7
9	WEST UTTAR PRADESH	-63	25-Jun	Not Set	-
10	UTTARAKHAND	-47	25-Jun	Not Set	-
11	HARYANA-CHANDIGARH-DELHI	-54	1-Jul	Not Set	-
12	PUNJAB	-39	5-Jul	Not Set	-
13	HIMACHAL PRADESH	-37	25-Jun	Not Set	-
14	JAMMU & KASHMIR	19	1-Jul	Not Set	-
15	WEST RAJASTHAN	-23	15-Jul	Not Set	-
16	EAST RAJASTHAN	27	25-Jun	Not Set	-
17	ODISHA	-32	12-Jun	22-Jun	10
18	WEST MADHYA PRADESH	-34	15-Jun	Not Set	-
19	EAST MADHYA PRADESH	-61	13-Jun	Not Set	-
20	GUJARAT REGION	-41	15-Jun	Not Set	-
21	SAURASHTRA & KUTCH	-31	1-Jul	Not Set	-
22	KONKAN & GOA	-50	10-Jun	24-Jun	14
23	MADHYA MAHARASHTRA	-45	10-Jun	24-Jun	14
24	MARATHWADA	-44	8-Jun	23-Jun	15
25	VIDARBHA	-69	12-Jun	23-Jun	11
26	CHHATTISGARH	-32	13-Jun	22-Jun	9
27	A & N ISLAND	63	20-May	30-May	10
28	COASTAL ANDHRA PRADESH	-31	6-Jun	21-Jun	15
29	TELANGANA	-40	8-Jun	22-Jun	14
30	RAYALASEEMA	-18	5-Jun	21-Jun	16
31	TAMILNADU & PUDUCHERY	-33	1-Jun	20-Jun	19
32	COASTAL KARNATAKA	-36	5-Jun	19-Jun	14
33	NORTH INTERIOR KARNATAKA	-4	6-Jun	21-Jun	15
34	SOUTH INTERIOR KARNATAKA	-28	3-Jun	20-Jun	17
35	KERALA	-38	1-Jun	8-Jun	7
36	LAKSHADWEEP	-19	1-Jun	8-Jun	7

Anexure-2

Progress of rainfall since 01-June-2019 in different meteorological sub-divisions of India (Relative departure from normal in %)

S1 No	Sub Division	01- Jun to 27 Jun 2019 (mm)			
		ACT	NOR	Def/ Surp	
1	ARUNACHAL PRADESH	279	438	-159	
2	ASSAM & MEGHALAYA	318	447	-129	
3	NMMT	205	360	-155	
4	SHWB & SIKKIM	341	423	-81	
5	GANGETIC WEST BENGAL	97	222	-125	
6	JHARKHAND	72	168	-96	
7	BIHAR	83	135	-52	
8	EAST UTTAR PRADESH	46	85	-39	
9	WEST UTTAR PRADESH	22	58	-37	
10	UTTARAKHAND	80	149	-69	
11	HAR. CHD & DELHI	18	40	-22	
12	PUNJAB	25	41	-16	
13	HIMACHAL PRADESH	51	82	-31	
14	JAMMU & KASHMIR	76	64	11.9	
15	WEST RAJASTHAN	24	31	-7.3	
16	EAST RAJASTHAN	65	51	13.9	
17	ODISHA	127	186	-60	
18	WEST MADHYA PRADESH	58	87	-29	
19	EAST MADHYA PRADESH	44	115	-70	
20	GUJARAT REGION	66	112	-46	
21	SAURASHTRA & KUTCH	54	77	-24	
22	KONKAN & GOA	294	586	-292	
23	MADHYA MAHARASHTRA	74	134	-60	
24	MARATHWADA	68	121	-53	
25	VIDARBHA	44	145	-100	
26	CHHATTISGARH	109	161	-52	
27	A & N ISLAND	612	375	236	
28	COASTAL ANDHRA PRADESH	64	93	-29	
29	TELANGANA	69	116	-47	
30	RAYALASEEMA	54	66	-12	
31	TAMILNADU & PUDUCHERY	33	50	-17	
32	COASTAL KARNATAKA	483	755	-271	
33	N. I. KARNATAKA	91	95	-3.8	
34	S. I. KARNATAKA	92	127	-35	
35	KERALA	356	572	-217	
36	LAKSHADWEEP	244	302	-58	